Otra vida, Otra vez

What a day. I had one day that will go into history books. I was at PG hospital and though it started like any other day in a new service; by lunch time it took a predicted yet beautifully unexpected turn for best. [I’ll save that for later]… I have my 5 hot things for early December and they are pretty caliente [if i do say so myself]


-Music-

I am loving Amazon’s mp3 store. I’ve gotten some gems from them for dirt cheap. I got the swingingest Christmas CD out there, Ella Wishes You a Swinging Christmas. Anyone who reads this or knows me, should know that I love me some Ella. And this CD is classic Ella and her spin on Christmas.


-Author-
Junot Diaz, Because of what happened to me earlier today and my whole OB experience, I was reminded of Diaz and some of his writings. I find some loose parallels between him and his characters and myself.  Just the whole walking the line between americaness and a foreign identity. I’ve always liked Diaz’s writing style and narration, it somehow feels like he’s speaking on the same wavelength as me or something [idk, its weird] . And So i found some short stories from the New Yorker and listened to a few of his interviews.
http://www.newyorker.com/fiction/features/2007/12/24/071224fi_fiction_diaz?currentPage=all
http://www.newyorker.com/archive/2004/06/14/040614fa_fact1?currentPage=all

– Clothing-
Gap had a buy one get one free shirt sale so I got the yellow plaid shirt I’ve been wanting for a while. 


– Experience-
Today on the Labor and Delivery service I was lucky enough to witness and help in a delivery. The Mom was a Hispanic woman and this was her second baby. I met her this morning with my resident and when the resident was asking her questions I noticed that she didn’t seem to understand the questions well. So I put just jumped in and helped translate. I was comfortable enough to get through the basics and since her nurse [the usual translator] was busy we got through it pretty well. So this was in the morining and after lunch I went down to the floor to see what was going on and everything just sped up. She was going to deliver and it was coming fast.
So the resident called me over and had me gown up to assist.  So I got right in and was there to help. I tried to help her and I was translating the usual commands (empuje = push, fuerte = strong, respira= breathe, bueno bueno mami = good job mom!)  I wasnt anybodies hero or anything. It just felt good to help. So the whole delivery went pretty smoothly, but i have to just say that it was better than i ever thought it was. The whole room was on one page, supporting the mom and rooting for everything to be ok. And when the little girl was finally out, you could feel the energy overwhelm you. It almost like an electricity that everyone could feel. The mom was just thanking god and so happy.  As happy as we all were. It was just one of those moments that i’ll EVER forget.


-The Future-
Getting ready for my future and seeing that its rapidly approaching almost has me like a deer in headlights. I find myself feeling like I dont know what to do. I dont know to go left or right, all i know is that I have to move. I think that the key to taking charge of your future and realizing it is to walk forward with faith. Just to know that the right thing is going to come my way and to do what I must day to day with the finish line always in the back of my mind. 
2010 is going to be a year when dreams start to materialize.


aight, i have a health fair to work with in the morning… I pray it goes well


hasta luego
Julian 

About julian watkins
I'm a young doctor living in the Miami area. I try to live life to the fullest every day. I love music, movies, art, running, politics, books, traveling, pretty girls and cool looking stuff. I started this blog in Medical School and I'll try to keep it up throughout my residency. I'll take everything one day, one photo, one song at a time.

Leave a Reply

