Fin de Semana wrap up

I bought a bolero CD, Eydie Gorme and Los Panchos, it was like 10 bucks on Amazon for 30 songs so i just bit my lip and bought it. I dont regret my decision. I also found a Donny Hathaway CD that I will buy, there are two songs in particular that I love I Believe in Music and Take a Love Song. They have the feel of that era plus that extra umph that Donny is so good for.

This weekend I also got more accustomed to my phone and even downloaded my desktop black berry manager thing [i love my phone btw]. This weekend I got to watch a little tv while trying to center my self and read all this ethics stuff. I was watching Mystery Diagnosis on discovery health and I got four out of 6 diagnoses before they revealed them. Diaphragmatic hernia and Addisons were my favorite calls. I guess the main thing in medicine is to follow up patients and not lose your investigative spirit. Its hard because sometimes patients are looking for something that is not there, I guess the clinicians job is to be vigilant and discerning enough to see when people are really sick or just malingering. Sometimes the rare diagnosis is the diagnosis, the Zebras show up lol… enough medical stuff

This weekend I also so Good Hair the new Chris Rock movie. All I can say is that I knew, but I didnt know. If you can understand. I understand that some women wear weaves and that some people perm and stuff… I just had no idea it was its own sub-culture. I just find it disturbing that there are women out there who put other peoples hair on their heads. Its kinda hermit crabby if you think about it. I dont and never will, one thing is for sure that I am officially against weaves, and that my future wife will not be using any weave. Maybe its my upbringing and the fact that the women in my life never dealt with any of those probs. Its not that I dont/cant sympathize, but I just dont get the whole weave and spending thousands of dollars on hair and hair stuff. But it is kinda something to think about, the fact that the black hair industry is still run by white people and asians. And as much as i dont really like everyones “natural look” I think its nice that some women do the natural thing.
Time is running fast. I cant believe its mid-term for Ethics already. That means that I am 1.75 years away from my Medical Degree lol. Its weird cause I feel myself becoming a MD every day, from the way i talk, to how i relate to people and approach things. Its very humbling because people put a lot of faith in medical professionals. I have to be on my game and seek knowledge. Lives will be at stake and I will be a community figure with a lot of responsibility. So as great as it sounds, its also very scary that I am inching closer and closer to the end of this phase of the journey. With time comes responsibility, in this field, and i owe it to myself and my patients to be the best I can be…
antes me voy, here is a link to some tracks that leaked from the twilight soundtrack.. I hate that its not gonna be a sucky sound track but whatever, good music is good music]
well its late, and i gotta get my hours in bed so i can be crisp for my first day back at Howard. [I’ll miss childrens hospital dearly lol]
Ciao,
Julian
About julian watkins
I'm a young doctor living in the Miami area. I try to live life to the fullest every day. I love music, movies, art, running, politics, books, traveling, pretty girls and cool looking stuff. I started this blog in Medical School and I'll try to keep it up throughout my residency. I'll take everything one day, one photo, one song at a time.

Leave a Reply

