5 HOT THINGS OF SUMMER

-Vacations-
Its always good to go out and get some vacation time. With summer kinda winding down quickly, there is still time to get out there and get a last minute vacay. And remember that Summer aint summer till you get some agua de pipa! lol

-Summer Movies-
For some reason going to the movies is so much better in the summer time. Maybe its the air conditioning or the annual summer blockbuster, but there is some serious nostalgia associated with summer movies.

– Shades-
I like wearing sunglasses. I invested in a new pair from stussy as soon as the weather broke a few months ago. But for some odd reason reason i find it hard to wear shades in cold weather, the sun can be blinding the hell outta me, but I just cant bring myself wear shades in the winter [weird huh?] . So I guess I gotta wear em to death before the cold comes backs lol

-Books-
I love reading and though i try to read for fun during the school year I find it hard. But since Summer = free time, I found myself ripping through two books this summer. I read a great book that i heard about on NPR, this book has also been on many best books of 09 lists and books of the summer, I talked about it before but i really do like it its Sag Harbor by Colson Whitehead, this book was just a great coming of age story and that felt almost like talking to a friend. I also read this book called The Reluctant Fundamentalist by Mohsin Hamid, this book was about a young Pakistani man and how his life was flipped upside down after 9/11, it also talks about his unrequited love and the inner turmoil he had to deal with. Its a good read, though I dont really like the narrators voice, and the dialog is kinda off at time.

-Music-
summer is the only season where you can hear a song and know from the very first beat that a song is in fact a “song of summer”. You never hear a song and go, ” Oh, that song is such a fall song” lol
Think about it, so many songs are just vibrant and cheerful and embody the feeling that we all have associated with one of the best seasons. That said I dont think this CD is comin out in summer but Im HELLA excited about this new project from Julian Casablancas. I like that he did a trailor for his CD.

Aight I gotta drive back to DC in the morning so Im goin to bed

peace&love
Julian

About julian watkins
I'm a young doctor living in the Miami area. I try to live life to the fullest every day. I love music, movies, art, running, politics, books, traveling, pretty girls and cool looking stuff. I started this blog in Medical School and I'll try to keep it up throughout my residency. I'll take everything one day, one photo, one song at a time.

Leave a Reply

