Georgia On My Mind

The funny thing about going away to school is that in your mind things at home are in a suspended animation that begins the moment you left. For me it felt like that all throughout high school, Id go off to school and when i’d come back everything and everyone was pretty much the same. But in undergrad and especially med school, every time i go home would be drastically different.

Besides the renovation binge that my parents went on [and are still in the midst of], the fabric of family life seems to have changed. Not in my nuclear family per se, besides the big wedding last summer, just family in general. I guess as you get older those little family spats and problems that where so well concealed aren’t so hidden behind that vale parents used to put up. Now is the time where you really begin to see your parents through adult eyes, not those of a snot nosed tween or a know it all manic teen. I see my parents for the man and woman that they are. I can appreciate them so much more than I ever have. But with this more discerning eye of course you see all the other personalities and idiosyncrasies that make up families. At first it was hard to come to terms with the fact that some major players in your boyhood are no longer present. Its hard to comprehend the fact that real life happens to everyone. People and pets die. People get divorced. People fall in and out of love… its life.
Im very grateful [and aware] that I was shielded from a lot of the harsh realities of life, many people are not so lucky. I know that in spite of anything that may change or the people who pass through my life experience that I have good loving people in my corner. Growing up is hard to do but just as with most things in life. For all the countless joys and extraordinary acts of love there are the down moments and pains that provide that counterbalance in the natural way of things.
Well, with all that said…
It feels good to be home
on that note… im off to bed. Driving up to South Carolina in the morning
Peace&Love
Julian
About julian watkins
I'm a young doctor living in the Miami area. I try to live life to the fullest every day. I love music, movies, art, running, politics, books, traveling, pretty girls and cool looking stuff. I started this blog in Medical School and I'll try to keep it up throughout my residency. I'll take everything one day, one photo, one song at a time.

Leave a Reply

